Wallingford Public Library Association Annual Meeting Minutes October 24, 2022

The 142nd Annual Meeting of the Wallingford Public Library Association was called to order by President Carol Mikulski at 7:05 pm. Minutes of the 2021 Annual Meeting and the Library's 2021-2022 Annual Report were available to attendees.

Minutes

A motion was made and seconded to dispense with the reading of the 2021 annual meeting minutes and the minutes were approved as written.

Treasurer's Report

Treasurer Kristi Doerr reported on the Association's invested funds and noted that the information on the library's operating income and expenditures for the fiscal year 2021-2022 are detailed in the Annual Report available for all to review. Ms. Doerr commented that the income from the invested funds is used to supplement the library's operating budget.

A motion was made and seconded, and it was voted to accept the Treasurer's Report.

Governance Committee Report

Governance Committee chairperson Jared Liu presented the proposed board nominees and officers.

Nominations for three-year terms on the Board of Managers, expiring in October 2025, are: Lisa-Marie Bellmore, Trish d'Oliveira, Jaime Hine, Maria Rodrigues McBride, and Dara Solan.

A motion was made and seconded to cast one ballot for the board nominees and they were approved as presented.

The Governance Committee presented the following slate of officers for one-year terms expiring in October 2023:

President: Cliff Overstrum

1st Vice-President:Jared Liu2nd Vice-President:Deron ChangSecretary:Art ElliottTreasurer:Kristi Doerr

A motion was made and seconded to cast one ballot for the slate of officers and they were approved as presented.

Mr. Liu presented the following nominees for the 2022-2023 Governance Committee: Jack Beecher, Anne Porier, Mary Reid

A motion was made and seconded to cast one ballot for the Governance Committee and the nominees were approved as presented.

Mr. Liu then recommended the following changes to the bylaws:

The Board of Managers recommends a change to Article III, Section 8 that will align the Bylaws with the library's current policy. The proposed change, included in the meeting packet, states that officials elected to Town of Wallingford and/or the State of Connecticut government positions may not serve on the Library Board of Managers. Library Managers who are elected to town or state positions will be required to resign from the Board of Managers. This provision does not apply to appointed government positions.

A motion was made and seconded to approve the proposed changes to the bylaws.

Librarian's Report

Director Jane Fisher offered greetings from the staff of the Wallingford Public Library and said that she appreciates the opportunity to work with such an innovative and friendly team. Despite the persistence of the Covid-19 pandemic, the past year has been positive for the library. Our door count is up, our programs are well attended, and people are borrowing materials. She noted the library's physical improvements including new flooring, lighting, paint, and a new elevator. The Collaboratory celebrated its 6-year anniversary this fall. Finally, Ms. Fisher talked about digital equity being a civil rights issue of our time and said that as the library looks to its mission and future goals, it will strive to keep our residents curious, connected, and inspired.

President's Comments

Mrs. Mikulski thanked the library's members, donors, and volunteers for their support and she recognized the board members who were in attendance. She then turned the gavel over to incoming President Cliff Overstrum. Mr. Overstrum acknowledged and thanked our dedicated Board members who are departing from the board: Maria Guadalupe Avila, Beth Brooks, Fred Monahan, and Leah Russell. He also thanked Ms. Mikulski for her leadership as Board President for three years.

Mr. Overstrum said that the Library is honored to present two individuals with our very special Coleman Ives Award. This award was established in 2009 by the Board to honor and recognize the service of extraordinary library volunteers. The award is named for Sally Coleman and Louise Ives whose exemplary service to the library has had an enormous impact on the library and the community. The names of this year's recipients will accompany the six prior recipients of the award.

Ms. Mikulski presented the award to former board member Julie Robison. Jane Fisher presented the award to library volunteer and advocate Alfred Mueller.

Adjournment

A motion was made and seconded, and it was voted to adjourn the 142nd Annual Meeting at 7:50 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Art Elliott Secretary